Login

Women Genetics Speakers

 

 

First Name Last Name Institution Position Keywords Website email
Hanifa Abu-Toamih Atamni Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Tel Aviv University Post Doc Collaborative Cross mouse reference population, Type 2 diabetes (T2D), Metabolic syndrome (MetS), Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (NAFLD), Obesity, High fat diet (HFD), Sex effects, , Heritability, Coefficient of genetic variation (CVg), Quantitative Trait Loci (QTL).  None hanifaa@post.tau.ac.il
Asma Amleh The American University in Cairo Associate Professor, Interim Director of Biotechnology Program Developmental Biology, Cancer, anti-cancer peptides, Knock-down, Overexpression, Mesenchymal stem cells,   http://www.aucegypt.edu/fac/asmaamleh aamleh@aucegypt.edu
Ruth Arkell The Australian National University Associate Professor Mouse genetics, Transcription factors, Gastrulation, Signalling, Patterning and Morphogenesis, Congenital defects http://jcsmr.anu.edu.au/research/groups/arkell-group-early-mammalian-development ruth.arkell@anu.edu.au
Marietta Armaka Biomedical Sciences Research Center "Alexander Fleming", Vari/Greece Researcher C' (assistant professor level) Modeled-Disease, Rheumatoid, Arthritis, Synovial, Fibroblast, TNF, Signalling, Lineage-tracing, Gene-targeting, Transgenic https://www.fleming.gr/research/immunology/armaka-lab armaka@fleming.gr
Marie-Christine Birling PHENOMIN-ICS-IGBMC PhD genetic engineering, CRISPR/Cas9, mouse, rat http://www.phenomin.fr/ ; http://www.ics-mci.fr/en/departments/genetic-engineering-and-model-validation/  birlingm@igbmc.fr
Valerie Bolivar Wadsworth Center, NY State Department of Health Research Scientist Autism, mouse, CRISPR, inbred strains, behavior genetics, neuroanatomy, QTL, corpus callosum, social behavior, cognition http://www.wadsworth.org/senior-staff/valerie-bolivar valerie.bolivar@health.ny.gov
Elizabeth Bryda University of Missouri Professor Comparative Medicine, Rodents, Polycystic Kidney Disease, Animal Modeling, Zebrafish, Embryonic Stem Cells http://vpbio.missouri.edu/faculty/Elizabeth_Bryda.html brydae@missouri.edu
Rachel Burt Murdoch Childrens Research Institute Senior Research Fellow / Team Leader Auditory Genetics, Auditory Biology, Deafness Research, Mouse Genetics, Mammalian Genetics, Gene discovery, Genetic Mapping https://www.mcri.edu.au/users/dr-rachel-burt rachel.burt@mcri.edu.au
Polly Campbell Oklahoma State University Assistant Professor Chemical communication, Genomic imprinting, hybridization, premating isolation, sex chromosome evolution, speciation http://pollycampbell5.wix.com/campbell-lab polly.campbell@okstate.edu
Sally Camper University of Michigan Medical School Margery W. Shaw Distinguished University Professor Genetics of birth defects, Pituitary gland and craniofacial development, Transcription factors and signaling pathways that influence pituitary development and function, Mouse geneticsExome sequencing https://medicine.umich.edu/dept/human-genetics/sally-camper-phd scamper@med.umich.edu
Tamara Caspary Emory University School of Medicine Associate Professor mouse neural patterning, Sonic hedgehog, cilia, forward genetic screens, ciliopathies, axon guidance http://genetics.emory.edu/research/caspary/ tcaspar@emory.edu
Nora Engel Fels Institute for Cancer Research, Temple University School of Medicine Associate Professor Genomic imprinting, Transcriptional regulation, Epigenetics, Sex-specific expression, Mouse development https://medicine.temple.edu/nora-engel nengel@temple.edu
Cathy Fernandes Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience (IoPPN), King's College London Senior Lecturer Behavioural genetics, psychopharmacology, neurodevelopmental disorders, animal models  https://kclpure.kcl.ac.uk/portal/en/persons/cathy-fernandes(64d6a46f-3bfd-49e7-852f-bcd1a0909c82).html cathy.fernandes@kcl.ac.uk
Marta Gajewska Cancer Center and Institute of Oncology, Department of Genetics, Facility of Laboratory Animals Breeding,Warsaw, Poland PhD laboratory animals breeding,animal genetics (laboratory, wild), ancient DNA analysis None mgajewska@coi.waw.pl
Teresa Gunn McLaughlin Research Institute, Great Falls, MT Associate Professor mouse models, cellular & molecular mechanisms of neurodegeneration http://mclaughlinresearch.org/research-scientists/faculty/teresa-gunn/ tmg@po.mri.montana.edu
Kathryn Hentges University of Manchester Senior Lecturer  Mouse genetics, cardiovascular development, genomics, left-right axis formation, cilia, splicing, mouse mutagenesis https://www.research.manchester.ac.uk/portal/en/persons/kathryn-hentges(28caf8bc-058f-49fa-b214-2d0339c4ee3b).html Kathryn.Hentges@manchester.ac.uk
Viive Howell University of Sydney, Australia Research Laboratory Director, Senior Research Fellow (University of Sydney equivalent of Assistant Professor) cancer, Sleeping Beauty mutagenesis, mouse models of cancer, biomarkers, immunotherapy, drug resistance, ovarian cancer, brain cancer, lung cancer http://sydney.edu.au/medicine/people/academics/profiles/viive.howell.php viive.howell@sydney.edu.au
Folami Ideraabdullah  University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Assistant Professor Environmental epigenetics, gene-environment interactions, gene-epigenome interactions, genomic imprinting, early development, nutrition, DoHaD https://www.med.unc.edu/genetics/people/faculty/folami-ideraabdullah folami@email.unc.edu
Erica Larson University of Montana Postdoctoral Research Associate Evolutionary Biology, Speciation, Genomics, Sexual Selection www.ericalarson.org ericalarson@gmail.com
Heather A Lawson Department of Genetics, Washington University School of Medicine Assistant Professor Parent-of-origin effects, gene-by-environment interactions, metabolism, systems biology, integrative physiology, evolutionary genetics, quantitative genetics, genomics, epigenomics lawsonlab.wustl.edu lawson@wustl.edu
Morag Lewis King’s College London PhD deafness, mice, microRNAs, bioinformatics https://kclpure.kcl.ac.uk/portal/morag.lewis.html morag.lewis@kcl.ac.uk
Elizabeth (Lisa) Livanos KaryoLogic, Inc. President, Senior Cytogeneticist karyotype, stem cells, cytogenetics, chromosome, trisomy www.karyologic.com elivanos@karyologic.com
Elisabeth Lodder Academic Medical Center, University of Amsterdam PhD Systems Genetics, Cardiac Arrhyhmias, murine models of cardiac disease, next generation sequencing, genomics https://www.amc.nl/web/Research/Who-is-Who-in-Research/Who-is-Who-in-Research.htm?p=2517, https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Elisabeth_Lodder e.m.lodder@amc.uva.nl
Donna Martin The University of Michigan Medical School Chief, Division of Pediatric Genetics, Metabolism, and Genomic Medicine, Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases development, mouse genetics, chromatin remodeling, inner ear, brain, human genetics, dysmorphology, craniofacial disorders, CHARGE syndrome https://sites.google.com/a/umich.edu/dmartinlab/home donnamm@umich.edu
Miriam Meisler University of Michigan Professor of Human Genetics neurogenetics, epilepsy, movement disorders, sodium channels, phosphoinositides, mouse genetics, human genetics, gene discovery, encephalopathy, Charcot-Marie-Tooth meislerm@med.umich.edu
Sarah E Millar University of Pennsylvania Albert Kligman Professor and Vice-Chair for Basic Research, Department of Dermatology, Perelman School of Medicine; Director, Penn Skin Biology and Diseases Resource-based Center; Professor, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, Perelman School of Medicine (secondary appointment); Professor, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, School of Dental Medicine (secondary appointment) hair, stem cells, regeneration, skin, tooth, mammary gland, mouse, Wnt, epigenetics, chromatin http://www.med.upenn.edu/apps/faculty/index.php/g275/p14900 millars@mail.med.upenn.edu
Kathleen Millen Seattle Children's Research Institute and Dept of Pediatrics, University of Washington, Seattle Professor mouse models, human neurodevelopmental disorders, cerebellum, cortex, therapeutics, neurogenetics http://depts.washington.edu/millenwb/home/​ kathleen.millen@seattlechildrens.org
Clarissa C Parker Middlebury College Assistant Professor QTL mapping, behavioral genetics, psychiatric genetics, neurogenetics, GWAS, mouse http://www.middlebury.edu/academics/neuro/faculty/node/454157 cparker@middlebury.edu
Ana V Perez Taconic Biosciences Global Director, Genetic Sciences and Compliance mammalian, genetics, mouse, rat, model, mutation, genetic background, inbred, outbred, molecular biology http://www.taconic.com/ Ana.Perez@taconic.com
Megan Phifer-Rixey Monmouth University Assistant Professor Evolutionary Genetics, Genomics, Adaptation, Speciation, Population Genetics, Evolutionary biology, wild mice phiferrixeylab.com mphiferr@monmouth.edu
Eva Redei Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine David Lawrence Stein Professor of Psychiatry rat, translational transcriptomics, imprinted genes,  behavior http://www.depressionisforreal.com/ e-redei@northwestern.edu
Linda Siracusa Thomas Jefferson University Professor Cancer Risk; Cancer Genetics; Colorectal Cancer; Digestive Diseases and Disorders; Gastrointestinal System; Gene Expression; Gene Mutation; Genetic Library; Genetic Model; Immunohistochemistry; Laboratory Mouse; Mammalian Genetics; Model Design Development; Molecular Cloning; Molecular Oncology; Molecular Pathology; Nucleic Acid Sequence; Phenotype; Pleiotropism; Polymerase Chain Reaction; Protein Structure Function; Pulsed Field Gel Electrophoresis; Small Intestine; Southern and Northern Blotting; Tissue Cell Culture; Transcription; Transgenic Animals; Tumor Progression; Western Blotting http://www.jefferson.edu/university/biomedical-sciences/faculty-staff/faculty/siracusa.html Linda.Siracusa@jefferson.edu
Laura Sittig ​​University of California, San Diego Department of Psychiatry​ Postdoctoral fellow behavioral genetics, epistasis, genomics, mouse mutagenesis, genetic background, psychiatric disorder, QTL mapping, gene-gene interaction​ www.palmerlab.org lsittig@ucsd.edu
Cynthia Smith The Jackson Laboratory Research Scientist Bioinformatics, Genome, Database, Phenotypes, Genotypes. Disease Models, Mouse, Phenotype Ontologies, Data Integration www.informatics.jax.org, www.findmice.org, www.CrePortal.org Cynthia.Smith@jax.org
Leah Solberg Woods Wake Forest Baptist Health Medical Associate Professor genetics of type 2 diabetes and obesity using outbred rats http://www.wakehealth.edu/Faculty/Solberg-Woods-Leah-Catherine.htm lsolberg@wakehealth.edu
Michelle Southard-Smith Vanderbilt University Medical Center Associate Professor Developmental Genetics, Neural Crest, Peripheral Nervous System, Enteric Nervous System, Lower Urinary Tract Innervation, Mouse Models of Disease https://medschool.vanderbilt.edu/southard-smith-lab/ michelle.southard-smith@vanderbilt.edu
Karen Svenson The Jackson Laboratory Research Scientist Mouse genetics, metabolism, obesity, diet, gut microbiome, genetic mapping, QTL None Karen.Svenson@jax.org
Leslie Turner University of Bath Lecturer (i.e. Asst Professor) evolutionary genomics, genetics of wild mice, quantitative genetics, male reproduction, hybrid sterility http://leslieturner.net/ l.m.turner@bath.ac.uk
Jacy Wagnon University of Michigan Research Investigator epilepsy genetics, mouse models, sodium channels https://medicine.umich.edu/dept/human-genetics/faculty/faculty/all/w  jwagnon@umich.edu
Sara Wells MRC Harwell Institute Director Phenotyping, Neuroscience, International Mouse Phenotyping Consortium www.har.mrc.ac.uk s.wells@har.mrc.ac.uk
Melissa Wilson Sayres Arizona State University Assistant Professor Mammalian sex chromosome evolution; X-chromosome inactivation; population genetics; comparative genomics http://www.wilsonsayreslab.org melissa.wilsonsayres@asu.edu

 

Books

Here are some great out-of-print books


  Biology of the Laboratory Mouse (Green)


 The Anatomy of the Laboratory Mouse (Cook)  


 The Coat Colors of Mice (Silvers)  


 Origins of Inbred Mice (Morse)  


 http://www.emouseatlas.org/Atlas/Theiler_book_download.html